“Something Beautiful”

Something Beautiful

“If there were ever dreams that were lofty and noble
They were my dreams from the start
And the hopes for life’s best, were the hopes that I harbored
Down deep in my heart
But my dreams turned to ashes, my castles all crumbled
My fortune turned to loss
So I wrapped it all in the rags of my life
And laid it at the cross

And He made something beautiful, something good
All my confusion He understood
All I had to offer Him was brokenness and strife
But He made something beautiful of my life.”

-Bill Gaither

Tonight I was watching a man expressing his love to his family while he was on stage singing.  It was one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen.  I cried.  I cried for the beauty of it.  I cried for the loss of it, for never having known it.  I cried when I saw the look on his wife’s face.  There really are men out there that love their wives and families with all their hearts and are not only faithful, but live their lives for that moment when they walk through the door to be with their family every night.  These are men who are noble, honest and good.

I can see the beauty of love in their eyes.  I can see it reflected in the faces and eyes of their wives and children.  They glow with beauty.  This kind of man is “one of America’s best.”  He is a man who has been tested, tried, and has been found a winner, a creation of beauty.

Jaded eyes cannot see this beauty.  Bitterness blinds with night and there is no joy in morning.  Castles have crumbled, dreams have turned to ashes, and all is lost. These eyes have known rejection and betrayal, and refuse to believe there is beauty.  All men are relegated to realms of the damned.  All men are liars and cheats.  That is all she has ever known.

Until-

One day her eyes were opened to behold the most beautiful Love there has ever been.  A Love Who is in control…

A Love Who holds her times in His hand…

Who is faithful, a Rock to stand on, a Song to sing, a strong Habitation where she can continually resort…

A Love Who made heaven and earth and yet helps her…

A Love Who is good, Whose mercy is everlasting, and Whose truth endures forever…

Who commands His loving kindness to her in the daytime and sends His song to her in the night…

A Love Who gives her life, Who is her life…

Who gives her sight…

She takes His hand,

And in Him she lives, and moves, and has her being.

Leave a Reply

